GRANDMA LEVINE:


I understand your pain.

You have no future, you hate your past. Not enough presents on your birthday...

It can be sad.


But listen to me:

YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO SADNESS.


You�ve experienced none of the wont of your elders. Pogroms, Depression, Holocaust, War, Famine, Slavery...

You�ve had it easy, kid.


Come closer to me, Moishe.

Closer...

There.

Think of this:

Your nose, being stretched out up to your forehead by my fingers? This experience is nothing compared even to the agonies of childbirth, which over half the population experiences regularly. Imagine that. Now imagine this pain without the drugs that you�re always on.


Your mother war born during Kristalnacht, the death of one dream, and birth of another.

Even today, people in other countries and other tax brackets have problems you couldn't imagine.

You have a right to your melancholy

a right to your ennui.

You even (I admit) have a right to some little sadness,

but you have NO right to complain.


Bottom line, Moishe? You have nothing to complain about.


Now shut up and get me that damned matzoh.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com