UN-US


We are not perfect, you and I.

Far from it.

The rage with which we fight

the bitterness in our morning rituals

the tenacity of our fear

we are weak ones

weary of each other

but unprepared to free ourselves

from these tethers.


We are

� but not I.

I am ready to remove myself from Us.

I am prepared to become entirely me.

And if it takes momentous motion

to break our momentum

if atrocious acts must end our inertia

then I shall do it.

I shall do what is necessary

to split our nuclear family.

If I have to wear Hi-Karate

or flares

or a toupee to eradicate this Us

then so be it.


I'm serious.

I'm ready to be above

to be free

to see liberty

to simply, clearly

be.


But I can't do it alone.

You need to leave me, too.

And though I know you're unhappy

there needs to be more.

There needs to be hate.


So if I have to have sex with your dear grandmother

I'll allow it.

If I have to bribe your boss to make your life miserable,

if I must starve your goldfish

or overstuff your cabbage

or drown your conversation with corrections,

then I must.


I want out.

But I want you to want out, too.

It takes two to depart

so tell me, pleas

what can I do to be free?

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com