OCCUPATION


You take up more space that I thought.

Initially, I imagined you a slight bulge in my jeans

a subtle twinkle in my smile.

But now I see you beneath my eyelids

feel you in my chest

and on most every breath.


You are in my feet when I find rhythm

and in my fingers when I write.

You are the snap, crackle and pop of my bones

and the teeth I show when I make effort

take chances

rake myself over the coals.


You are everywhere I tend to be

taking over more and more of me

suspending my will to be free

conquering every vein and capillary

seizing more of me than I thought possible

than I thought I had.


You occupy all my attention.

Yours was a bloodless coup

so swift

and so severe.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com