ERRANT STEPS


I have made endless errors

most of which I have striven to forget

and though I strove

I cannot get some of them out of my head.


Moving to Akron in ninety eight

trying that poisonous puff fish

selling my old comic books for kindling...

Blowing those four guys in a pickup out west

- and those vertical stripes! (What was I thinking?)


But still

with all those fighting for the highest position

on my wall of shame

with all of these memories seeking out blame

the thing that stays with me most is your name.

For with all the awful things I've done to myself

and others

if I could eradicate

one simple item

I would do it in a second.

For no matter how low I may fall

or how many errant steps I make

or truths I fake

or pies I cake

you are still my worst mistake.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com