MARITAL ART


Who knew?

Who predicted that our marriage

was one of love

and war

not just the former?


Who would have predicted

that the minefields

I tip toe daily through

were laid the minute

I said "I do"?


I was unaware that

our relationship

our union

was simply a cessation of hostilities

a bond of amorous animosities.


I thought I knew what to expect

from us

and I was wrong.

I did not realize

the combat

the carnage

the chaos

we would experience

the barrages of insane attacks

the mistrust

the spying

the cold and hot fronts

that would leave us both weakened

and always susceptible

to new borders being assaulted.


I was not prepared

for this way of life

which, so quickly

has become so natural.

Who knew it would come to this:

a slap more standard than a kiss?

Who would have predicted this fate?

You?

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com