KENNY'S G


Kenny's girlfriend smiled at me.

It didn't mean nothing.

It couldn't

it shouldn't.

Her smile shouldn't light up the world all around me.

Her smile shouldn't shroud me in brilliance and glory.

Her smile shouldn't be the only thing that I see

while sleeping

while walking

while drinking

while fucking.


I should be focusing on things that matter.

I should be spending my time with my girlfriend.

I should be thinking about my next paycheck

- or maybe the first (I should go get a job).

I should talk to my mom.

I should write to my buddies.

I should write Jack a letter.

I should go talk to Jane.


Kenny's girlfriend looked at me funny

while licking her lips and then touching my leg.

She gave me a shock - or a thrill - or a stroking

was that first or just after when she smiled at me?

It doesn't quite matter

Kenny's my friend

I should write Jack a letter

I should visit my aunt.

I should go take a shower

or think of some sports.


The girl is quite friendly - that's all that's occuring

when she smiles at me it does not mean a thing.

But Kenny's girl Jane just keeps looking me over

and reaching me gently and holding me near.

I don't care about it.

Kenny is my buddy

I should write to my buddies

be a good boyfriend.

I should eat more tangelos

and get on a treadmill

or take a cold shower

or go to talk to Jane.


Kenny's girlfriend just wrote me a poem

it's beautiful - maybe the sweetest I've seen.

I don't want to read it again and again

and again and again, but all day I have been

reading it over and over and over

I don't understand it

but I think that I do.

Do you ever get that? Not quite getting it

but comprehending in a way that is new?

I think that I know what Jane's trying to tell me

I don't know it for sure but I think that it's - no!

Ken's left the picture; and she's all alone.

She's waiting for me...

I have to go.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com