PAIN!


I try to imagine

how you do this.

I spend some fair amount of time

thinking of you

sitting there

in your rocking chair

with your voodoo dolls

or your letters of conspiracy

and your plans

to do me harm.


I consider all the ways

you spend so much effort

working to hurt me

disarm me

damage me beyond repair.

I wonder what it is that makes you care so much

about my fate

why you put so much weight in making me suffer.


And I dream of how petty I might be

to think you spend so much time on me

working to make me grieve

languish, suffer so.

But then I realize that the only thing

that gives me strength to go on

is all the pain you seek to heap upon my weakened back.

It is enough to suffer any rack

fulfill any lack

take any whacks or cracks or smarting smacks.

It is enough for this sad sack.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com