"MISS ME"


She said "Do you miss me?"

and I said, "Don't ask dumb questions

questions without answers."

She said, "'Do you miss me' is a question with an answer."

"Not one that I will give," I told her.


"Do you miss me..."

I did not answer.

I did not explain how often

I thought of her

dreamt of her

wisher for a different world

than the one we walked into

wanted a different fate

than that which was ours.


I did not state how

my life had been dedicated to her

in small ways

for so long

that I didn't know what to do

with her presence.

How

she was the absence in my breath

the space between my steps

the silence when I spoke.

She was everything I was not

and could not be

and ought not have.


I told her none of this.

I did not answer.

Instead, I spun the wheel

and asked, "Do you miss me?"

"Yes," she said, "More than you'd think."

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com