NO SHERLOCK


You don't have to tell me twice.

Hell, you didn't have to tell me once.

I knew.

I knew from the day your sister said

"she can't come to the phone right now.

She'll call you back"

but never did.


I knew last month,

when you asked "Why must you be so suspicious?"

and last week,

when my toothbrush seemed especially worn.

I have known for a while.


And it didn't take a genius

to figure out what was going on.

It didn't take a trip to Baker's Street

or Scotland Yard

to clarify this code.

It was printed - point blank -

across the wall

for anyone who needed to

to read.


So, please forgive me

if I don't gasp in surprise

at this shocking disclaimer you proclaim.

I've known for a while.

I have seen it your eyes.

You didn't have to tell me

and you don't have to tell me twice.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com