VARIATIONS ON MARY JANE


Over and again I view

shadows and variations of you.

I seek your sisters

your soulmates

in every part of life

searching out subtle distinctions

in shoes

in hair

in smile and make-up.

Over and again

I distinguish variations in yous.


I only see this afterwards

notice how little you change

from time to time

year after year

the same sort

in different bodies

altered, adjusted, adapted

to different circumstances

but fundamentally unchanged.

No matter where I go

or what I think I'm looking for

I find you.


I wonder

why we keep ending up together

me

and a series of infinite mirrors

of you.

What makes me wind always circuitously back

to you?

More, though,

what makes you

in all your guises and shadow forms

continue to return

to me?

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com