DUCKLING


When you were ugly

I should have known you better.

When you were ugly

I could have been kind.

I might have walked with you

talked with you

spent some more time with you.

Ought to have let you stroke my spine.


There is so much opportunity

available

had I only looked closely at you

peered beneath the covers

and imagined

the glory

that with time

and tutelage

you would become.


I only saw the package

when you were ugly

and considered nothing else.

I was a fool

and you were a fool

not to see that in me.


But I have grown wiser

and my vision broader

as you have grown lovelier

finer

and certainly, smarter

as, just in time

to appreciate your charms

you have discovered

just how stupid I am.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com