NIKE 2


I can recall those thoughts

of conquest

and change

when I thought I could make myself

into something new

form exciting ways of looking

of feeling

of being in the world.

I can remember back

to a time

when I thought I could win

when I was young

and the world hadn't won.


There were years

when I believed

I could do something

create something

find something meaningful

beautiful, original.

I thought I had promise.

I thought we succeed

when I was young

and the world hadn't won.


That was some time back

and for a while

I didn't realize

how I'd been beaten

conquered, crushed.

I didn't see

that victory doesn't always go to the swift

but sometimes

to the slow, the steady,

the ones that can make the long haul

the ones that hold the cards

the ones that had won the last time

before you even entered.


Once, I thought I could succeed.

I thought I was the special one.

I thought it would all be fun

when I was young

and the world hadn't won.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com