DISINTER


I cannot explain

exactly

why I continue

to haunt your steps

follow the echoes of whispers

you left so long ago.


I don't know why I travel so far

so often

to have nothing to do with you

when you're so far beyond caring

for whatever I do.


Is it ignorance?

Do I continue to think

against all evidence

that you could still come back?

That I could be happy

with such an ending?


Is it faith?

Some religious persistent conviction

of your existence

regardless of history, memory, antipathy?


I don't know any better than you

but I suspect

it's part of my stubborn strain

that I have invested much time

so much past

so much psyche

that I will not

cannot give up the ghost.

Dead as we may be

I cannot help but disinter us.


It is not an answer

not an explanation

just a hypothesis.

What do you think?

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com