SKELETON


There is a bag

at the foot of the closet

that you've never worn

- not in all the time I've known you.


I have not yet asked you about it

because I only notice it

when snooping through your things

but I wonder what makes you hold

this treasure of so long ago

when you so regularly

so routinely scour the apartment

for things to remove

a regular cleansing

leaving so much unearthed.


What stories could that bag tell

if I could just open its mouth

and extract information?

What does it remember

that makes you hold onto it

for so long

with so little to do

with your day-to-day?


That leather handbag

is a link to your past

and I hope, someday,

in the future,

to learn all that it can teach.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com