IN THE FUTURE


When next I see you

I am going to kill you.

The next time we meet

it shall be the last.


I can't say how

or when

but I do know why.

I am going to kill you

because this is what it's been leading towards

since the moment of our meeting

since the instant of our birth.


We were born for this culmination

preparing, from the start,

for this orchestral ending

which we have waited so long for

and may still be decades off

- who knows?


All I know is

whether through the furious hate felt right now

or the cold mourning sobriety

of next week, next month

next year

and the tepid permanence

of all that is to come,

all I know is

when next we speak

in person

head to head

I shall kill you

or you me.


So let's not do this again.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com