HISTORY LESSONS


When we met,
I was studying the Punic Wars.
I still am, I suppose
but have learned many things
since then
and the time we've been apart.


I see that victory goes
to the one who is clever
and strong
and the one who wants it most
and will apply any tactics
to conquer.


I now know that some
are naturally stronger,
better than others
but that it is perseverance
and will
that wins the day
most often.


I have learned
that you can learn
from your opponents
and make their strengths your own
and even use them
against those who once wielded them
so well.


In my studies of history
I have uncovered much
which explains now,
in retrospect,
much of our past.
It doesn't do me much good,
all these years later,
but maybe it'll help me more
in the future.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com