THE ARTISTIC STATEMENT


Damn!
You are so wonderful.
You're beautiful and sweet and kind.
You have most of the parts
I look for
when I look at someone.


I just - I just wish
I just wish I loved your talent
half as much as I love you.
I wish I could respect your poems
and your songs
and your... performance art in any way.
I wish we could share the creative world
as I want to share so much with you.


I wish someday
you would stop throwing fecal colors
while chanting from the latest Spears release.
I wish you could think about your abilities
and fairly
allowed them to grow
- or better, quit forever
because you'll likely never get anywhere
as an artist
as a communicator
as an intellectual.


Your art, it is insipid
and ridiculous
and I'm ashamed to go to your openings
and your concerts and your theme parties.
I wish you could see how wonderful you are
but how awful everything you produce is.


I wish you would stop pretending to be artistic
and realize your talents lie elsewhere
- they have to.
I wish you'd just stop.


Otherwise, of course, you're perfect.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com