SLEEP WITH YOU
This is not the first time I tried to sleep with you.
A couple years back, there was that party at Cousin Allie's and you'd just broken up with Marc and my marriage was getting rocky. You were distraught and, trying to comfort you, I offered a moonlit drive. We went down the coast for what felt like hours thought I remember each and every instant of our forty-five minute jaunt as I considered the radio the temperature the odometer and the fuel gauge� We finally stopped by the bay where you asked why no one would ever love you and if you were truly destined to be alone and I leaned into you and I smelled your hair and said "there there" and you gulped back tears and burst out snot and I thought "this is SO wrong for her to be sad." I thought there was no one in the world who deserved happiness more than you except probably me and that I'd do anything to take your tears away so long as it meant I got to sleep with you. And you gained a modicum of control and I looked you in the face and your make-up had run all down and there were no tissues in the car and you looked like a soggy raccoon and I thought "this is not the time. There will be other opportunities � but not today." And I drove you home � or rather, back to Allie's � where you hooked up again with Marc which proved that it wasn't the right time for us (particularly with my wife and all).
There were a couple of times after that that I tried to sleep with you or thought about sleeping with you or dreamed about sleeping with you but, after all, I'm pretty glad I waited til you were legal.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com