NOT AS BEAUTIFUL


You're not as beautiful as I thought.

When I first saw you

I was stopped cold

stunned

shivering and steaming all at once.

You were psychedelia at first sight.


It's amazing I was able to master any words to speak

and doubly so you deigned to respond.


You shocked me straight

forcing me to review the universe

granting me a new lease in belief.

You were gorgeous.

You were so beautiful.


And since

those thoughts have echoed through my cavity

informing all ideas

as my eyes had seen your glory.


But now

as time has slightly dulled your shine

and I've experienced further opportunities

to explore the wonders you represent

I have seen�

Well, I can't say diminishment

but

I am aware of faults in your jewelry.


Your nose upturns too much

and you laugh an instant too long.

Early in the morning

your hair's not quite right

and your underwear's old.


The more I know,

the more I know that you are not perfect.

There are flaws in your fabric

you have errors in your existence.

This awareness has creeped over me

over the years.

You are not as beautiful as I'd once thought

and yet

also

trebly so.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com