BREATHE


Last night, when you asked if I thought we belonged together

if I thought I loved you

I said �Yes,�

and breathed in

taking in air like I hadn�t in weeks

in months � hell, in centuries!


I breathed in a heady concoction of oxygen

and freedom

and future

and love.

And when you nodded that you agreed

it was like I was sucking in liquid gold

which is probably bad for the lungs

but I didn�t care

as I hugged you

and kissed you

and held you some more.


And now, this morning,

when I see it was all a dream

I can see it was completely a nightmare

since I will not breathe so free

so happy

again

and the best moment of my life

never happened.


So I know you never meant to hurt me

but you�ll pardon me if I go away

and go to sleep

so I can try to breathe easily again.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com