TOOTHBRUSH


Today, I bought a toothbrush.

A purple toothbrush.

A pretty toothbrush.

It does the job, I guess�


I got it this morning

when I got off of work.

Work was good

but I was restless.

I had some extra energy

(extra nerves)

so I went out shopping

and I bought the toothbrush.

It�s purple and good.


When I got home

I brushed my teeth

and brushed my hair

and washed my toes and combed my beard.

I scrubbed my hands and scrubbed my hands

and scrubbed them again.

I used my toothbrush on my teeth.


After that, I tried to get some sleep.

I closed my eyes and counted sheep.

I tried to sleep�

so I got up and brushed my teeth again

and washed the dishes

and polished my pipes.

I thought of going for a quick jog

but opted instead to go back to sleep.


So I put my head down

and tried to think simple thoughts

think of toothbrushes

flying past my closed eyes

but they all turned into angels

and they plummeted down

down beneath the ground

to a fiery core

and they all had the face of the guy

we killed at midnight

the guy I unclasped at one

the guy I cleaned and brushed and bathed at two

the guy who did the time

for his crime.


So I got up again and cleaned more grime off the walls,

the ceilings and floor.

Then I scrubbed myself down

again and again

and I brushed my teeth

with the new purple toothbrush.

It was good.

It got the job done.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com