TAKE THE CAKE II


I'm so hungry

I could eat a cake.

A big French cake

with cream and cherries

and rum dripping off the sides.

I could eat an entire cake

not having any of it

simple holding it

in my mouth

and my stomach

until it was done with me.


I am so famished I could swallow

savor, masticate

and entire cake

of richness and wealth

that it would devour my pocketbook whole.

I would dance with delight

at the sight of the cake

but it wouldn't last long

because I'm hungry here

- HUNGRY!


I could demolish that imaginary cake right now,

I am so hungry,

and I wouldn't care

if it was left sitting out for some hours

or if it was sweeter

than the sweetest thing

or if it were rancid and rotted

and maggots were rolling in and out

of this, my dinner cake.

I wouldn't care...

well... then again,

now that I think of it

I can wait.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com