THE BOY


The boy said to me,

"You say you love my mother

- and that may be true -

but you will never love her as much

as deeply

as I do. "


The boy looked at me and said,

"You may think yours

is an unending passion

that will be there forever

but forever's a mighty long time

and it includes days of diapers

years of yelling

and frenzied feedings

and perhaps more.

Are you up for that?

Are you prepared for this lifetime of love?"


The boy stared into my eyes

and stated, "I just want to make sure

you're ready for what lies ahead.

This is the big time, here, boy.

And you may say

that she is divine

that you're love is so fine

that her kiss is like wine

but I'm here to tell you

there is more.

There is an eternity of service

to her and her spawn required.

You need to see that you

will have to live with me.

For you may be willing to pay any price

but I am the tax, man,

and I charge heavy.

Do you get it?

Can you handle it?"


The boy said all of these things to me

honestly, definitely, forcefully

in utero.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com