CLIMBING FOR JESUS


It is hotter than hell

but I am hardly hindered�

I am heading for heaven.


I am certain

I am questing

I am straining for new heights

attaining them

slowly.

Slowly,

step by step,

inch by inch,

I am reaching for Jesus.


There are simpler ways to get there

easier paths on this road.

I could ride a horse

I could ride hundreds of horsepower

barreling up this mountain

blazing a holy trail for all to see.

But there are certain

requirements

for entrance to my destination.

There are necessary strategies

for thinning the herd.

But I am a fatted calf

fated for redemption

if I have the gumption.


And probably, I am not really looking for Jesus.

Probably, Jesus is just another word for Truth

and Truth is just another word for Twinkies.

And perhaps, I am looking for God in all the wrong places.

Perhaps I am seeking Him on the wrong peak

or with the wrong eyes.

It hardly matters.

The important thing is this voyage I�m on.

The important thing is the quest.


And the sun beats down mercilessly

and � holy smokes �

I think I�m blind!

But soon I�ll see.

I�ll soon see the light.

I am looking

I am reaching

I am striving

and climbing for Jesus.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com