DEAR LORRAINE


Dear Lorraine,

You may not remember me,

but we went out some time, maybe seven years ago?

We were having a good time

it was a pretty good time, really

and, after drinks and a movie

and some pleasant conversation

I walked you home

and you asked me up for a nightcap.


I don't know if you remember,

but I said no.

I didn't know what a nightcap was,

but I didn�t think I wanted to wear one.

Certainly, I didn't know what it really meant.

I meant really.


So I'm sorry I was rude to you

and I'm sorry I declined the invitation

and I'm sorry you never saw fit to see me again.

But, with my word-a-day calendar,

and the cultural dictionary I just picked up

I now have a better understanding

of what you were going on about

and I could certainly say

I wish I took you up on your offer.


I also wanted to let you know

that, if it's not too late,

I'd be willing to have a nightcap with you now

if you were so inclined.

I know a lot of time has passed

but I'm lonely.

Enclosed is a picture.


Sincerely,

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com