NEW DIGS


I decided to go out.

It was one of those days

and I decided to go out.

You got a problem with that?


I left my apartment

and I went straight

which is strange

because, usually

I make a left, or a right

or I hit my head and realize I forgot something

and turn around and trudge up

the three fucking flights of stairs

to retrieve whatever idiot thing

my brain made me get.


This time, though

I went straight

into the street.

There were no cars

luckily.


I walked through the street

and into the building across from me.

I had never done that before

but this seemed like the day to give it a go.

You got a problem with that?

Good.


The door was opened,

so I just went in.

No guards

no locks

nothing to disturb my passage

into my neighbors' domicile.

Pretty sweet, huh?

Well, who asked you?


I looked at the mailboxes

I looked at the recycling bin

I looked at the information about building limits

and I smiled.

This was a nice building.

I could explore.


And I did. I looked around

and about

`and in and out

of this building so near

yet so distant from my life.

I walked up the stairs

and I checked out the doors

and the halls

and the floors.

Everything was similar to my building

but different.


Eventually,

my search became dull

and I decided to see if the apartments were any different.

No one had stopped me so far. Why now?


On the third floor

I checked the door

and I entered the mirror apartment to mine.

It was as if I was on a phantom planet

for

while I was clearly not alone in the universe

no one seemed to see me

sought to impede my process

my progress of invasion.

I was alone in this building

but not alone in the apartment.


A mother and daughter saw me come in

and put their heads back down

leaving me to go about my business

which was minding their business.

Don't look at me.

You got a problem, SAY SO!


Really, their place wasn't that interesting

but that wasn't what it was about.

It was about exploration

innovation

taking the diverged path

and seeing what was there.

It should be clear that it's made all the difference.


If I hadn't gone there

I wouldn't be where I am today.

So that's how I arrived at this prestigious position

and I have no regrets

and you can't have any of my cigarettes

no matter how much their worth in this new house.

You got a problem with that?

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com