UNDERBOUND


This horrid yellow lights overhead

capture me

captivate my attention

for want of anything else to do so.

I am wont to be attracted to the brightest thing about

and I wish I could fly to those lights.


I wish I could fly.

I wish I were able to rise above this filth

this subterranean squalor

these mired tracks that take me home

to work

and home again.

I am stuck beneath these yellow lights

beneath these girders

beneath kilotons of concrete

that bind me

hobble me

when I want to be racing.


I want to race home

traveling at the speed of the sounds

of the people telling me to watch where I�m going

as I fly between them

zipping past obstacles

jumping past everything in my way.

I want to move faster than the speed of light

than these horrid yellow lights

that capture me

a fly under their amber glow.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com