RITUAL SACRIFICE


Each day

soon after dawn

I enter my temple

and I perform the ritual.

It is not something I'm proud of

not something I think much of

but something I perform

religiously

most every day.


With blade in hand, I begin the ceremony

cleansing the victims

preparing them for their eminent departure.

Cutting them quickly

painlessly (I hope)

removing them from their plane

and sending them

somewhere better.


Each morning

soon after dawn

I prepare myself for the day ahead

with the ritual

with the sacrifice.

I am not proud of it

I do not think much of it

but it is something I daily do

an act I perform regularly

sacrificing my whiskers

to the Gods of Beauty.

Sometimes, there is blood.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com