COFFEEHOUSE SCENE


Across the coffee shop

they sit upon the sofa

those two.

They regularly arrive

when I�m here and lie with their coffee and pastry

together

while I work.

The one is not at all interesting, but the OTHER!

I flirt with the eyes

And I wonder if her mate has noticed this

but he does nothing.


The girl has dark hair and is young

with her hair pulled back in a gypsy kerchief

and she wears shredded jeans and has striking eyes

which could be any color

and are.

As they sit I steal glances over at the raven-haired beauty

who looks at me sometimes as if to say

I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO DO THIS

I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO GET AWAY FROM HE WHO I AM WITH

AND BE WITH YOU

I FEEL AS IF I AM STUCK, PROMETHEUS-BOUND TO THIS ONE

AND I AM EATEN AWAY

DAY BY DAY

AWAITING A WAY TO COME TO YOU.

I DO NOT KNOW HOW.

I DO NOT KNOW IF.

I JUST KNOW I WANT TO...


She says this, I think,

with her eyes

from across the coffee shop

as she sits with her man

and I watch

while I work.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com