STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND


This is not where I meant to be

this abandoned collapse landscape

at the edge of eternity.

I have approached Finite here

so far away from everything I appreciate.

The parks, the music the culture

that gives life meaning

is shore miles

and lifetimes away

and I feel I may never see them again.


Gone are the hippies and punks

that pepper my mixing bowl streets.

Here there are different flavors

with russians dressing

beside residents of a thousand islands

all on this peninsula

together

yet apart

like me.


This is far away from home

a curious funhouse mirror of my own town

which shares some of its name

but not all.

Not enough.

The love songs here are different.

The lovers too.


This is not where I meant to be

and though it's frightening

and exotic

it is no worse than where I meant to be

and in some ways, is better.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com