GIANTS


Their tree-trunk legs thunder about me

behemoth-creatures crushing all in their way.

Oblivious to my very existence

these silhouettes of gods

or nature

of existence in all its imperial glory

they go about their business

mightily

angrily

hurriedly.


These are the giants of the earth

the lords of the land

the rules of my life

these hyper-surreal figures

these gorgeous leviathans that I barely understand

these gigantic parental units.


I adore them.

I worship them.

I hope they give me my allowance quickly

so I can get away from them

before they again threaten to crush me

and all I hold dear.


This is why I don�t have any nice things

for they give

and they take away

unaware of life

from the ground�s eye view.

They don�t understand my existence

don�t recall it from their days before deity.


I appreciate that their transformation

must leave them lost in the ways of their lessers

but still, would it hurt them so

to watch where they�re going?

I hope not

and I pray

that someday

they slow down

look down

before it�s too late.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com