DIMINISHING RETURNS


With every day you become less beautiful

less charming

less exciting

less good.


The more of you I see, it seems

the less I seem to want to.

And while I wish it weren't so

it simply appears that familiarity is breeding contempt

and I'm content with the content of that statement.


I like you much less than I used to

than when I rushed headlong after you

just weeks ago.

I need your company in fewer ways than I thought possible

when I sought so ecstatically

to incorporate you into my life.


I think there is a science to this detachment.

The law of diminishing returns leaves me hardly entertained by your presence

and while I used to demand you in my life

now that you have given me such an endless supply

I'm tempted to command you to leave.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com