ONCE WAS LOST


Currently, I am dead

but I used to be a very important man

a man with a plan

a man who could ban others

from doing what they wanted

because my needs were more important.


I'm dead now,

but before that

I rubbed elbows with greatness

and greatness got the better of the deal.

I would have whores pay to be with me

- which makes me a whore, I suppose -

but it didn't matter

because no one would say so

because I was THAT important.


It was a good life

being unstoppable

being irresistible

being unmovable.

It was delightful

being a colossus

an eclipse

a galaxy of my own.

Those were good times.


But they're over now.

My glory days are passed

since I left the plane

where I was head and shoulders

above the others.

Now, I am one among many

grubbing dirt

hoping to be reincarnated

as something greater

though frankly

I am hard pressed

to imagine what.


Life was good

I tell you

which makes these days

all the more

of a dying hell.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com