OPPORTUNITIES SQUANDERED


The potential that I squandered

the opportunities I let fly

for such ridiculous reasons

are multitudes.

I could have been everything I wanted to be

a general

a rock star

a dancer of the eighteenth order.


There was so much awaiting me

on those dirty dark streets

paved with silver and starlight.

I might have been whatever the world required

but I forsook it all

for you.


And this life we lead

this simple

ridiculous small life

glories the world

not an eighth as much

as I could have.

A planet could have uttered

humble thanks to me

and my deeds

but instead

at the end of the day

all I hear

are your sighs

of love.


And

I may regret my choices

may hearken back

to opportunities squandered

and chances lost

but I think of you

here

in my arms

or soon to be

and I see

I made the right choice.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com