LOST


I do not know this bed.

I do not remember how I got here

I know Louie and I were drinking

- we're usually drinking -

and I know we were riding

- don't look at me;

how else can you get to the bar? -

and I know we were a little lost

which is strange

seeing as how we're always in these parts

doing these things

seeing these folk.


And I know

in the ditch

by the tanks

near the dump

we lay

looking up

trying not to smell

but having a good view

of the clouds

darting past stars

covering the heavens

keeping us safe.


I remember we spoke

Louie and me

about what we wanted out of the week

and the weekend

and how we could be happy

if we could only get a little ahead

and

and that's the last I remember


until now

where

in this bed

I see you

atop me

looking a lot like Louie

but somehow blurrier.

Are you his cousin?

I haven't seen his sister in ages.

I don't know who you are

and I don't know where I am

and I hope you can tell me

'how did I get here?'

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com