THE WAR OF WILLS


She says I'm sad

and I say, "So cheer up!"

She tells me it's not that simple

that sometimes

the skies take on a bluer shade

and somehow

the air is tinged with guilt.

Some days

you're just supposed to be sad.


But I tell her

"Nonsense!

Days are meant to be filled with joy

and energy

and power and fun.

And if they aren't

- KAPOW -

drugs or wine

or murderous vendettas can change everything.

There is no reason to be sad

dear girl!

Turn that frown

upside down!"


She looks at me quietly

softly

and tells me

I do not understand.

And I say

"Are you deaf, woman?

Do you not get what I'm saying?

Just snap out of it!

What you are feeling

is merely a lack of will.

You can be giddy

in just a nonce

if you wish it.

So wish it

danmit!

WISH IT!"


But she sits back

sighing

and waiting for me

to leave.

Eventually

I do

but I'll be back

and I'll have my clown suit

and if she doesn't smile

well, more trouble for her...

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com