NOW & THEN


Smitten as I am

I suspect

had I known you then

I'd be repulsed by you now.


With the frame of reference

of your younger years

(younger, more vibrant

excited and excitable)

I believe you would not seem

a husk

a shell of the seed

of pure life

you once promised to be.


Your beauty

if the illustrations indicate anything

are glorious

and has only faded since.

All evidence suggests

you are not half what you used to be


Still

ignorant as I am

of the you

you were

I cannot compare.

Like a man raised on saccharine

who will never taste sugar

or the blind

thinking of the sunset

I can only appreciate

the blessings I have

and not jealously lust

for the unattainable.


Still,

smitten as I am

I hear you used to be fucking great...

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com