SEVENTH HELL


Daunting were the threats

the harpies, minotaurs, centaurs

all violent

as were we all

punishing our pasts

daring us to damage them

challenging us.

Challenging us...


Some took up the gauntlet.

Some fought these monsters

and some even survived

if that is what it can be called here

but they fell apart

in the forests of the damned

or the boiling bloody baths

surrounding us

day and night

if such terms meant anything

here.


We were haunting landscapes

we had never seen.

And we were living deaths

we could never have dreamed.

And we were suffering

- some of us

for what we'd been.

It was bad

for we were.


But I?

I did not take my cursing so lightly

I did not remain tortured

before the beasts

crushed under their challenges

dire and damned while dead.

I sought something greater.


And I found it.

I reached the border of this land

and I, in life, no small commander

I waited patiently

having fought down all enemies

killing centaurs

mauling minotaurs

silencing sirens

I beat them all

and I waited

by a river of blood

waited patiently

until my ship came in.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com