MY THERAPIST 3


My therapist says I shouldn't be jealous of people who are better than me.

"So who does that leave?" I ask.

"GOOD POINT," my therapist says,

"THAT WOULDN'T LEAVE MANY PEOPLE, WOULD IT?"

I ask my therapist if that was an insult

and he looks down on me from his pinch-nez glasses and says

"WHAT DO YOU THINK?"


I think my therapist is out to help me

but sometimes

he doesn't know how I react to what he says.

"DON'T BE STUPID," he replies

"I UNDERSTAND EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU.

YOU'RE NOT THAT TOUGH A CASE.

VERY SIMPLE, REALLY."


Still, I feel like I could maybe get a little more compassion.

I wish he were a little nicer to me sometimes.

"IS THAT WHAT YOU WANT, MAMA'S BOY?

SOMEONE TO HUG YOU AND HOLD YOUR HAND

AS YOU WALK ACROSS THE STREET?

I DIDN'T REALIZE YOU WERE THAT PATHETIC."


I can't help but smile at that, and my therapist asks

"WHY?"

"If you didn't know I was that pathetic," I explain

"Maybe you're not so smart as you think."

My therapist beat me pulpy after that

but I think it was worth it.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com