IN


The floorboards ached as I stepped into the house.

It seemed so quiet

unspoiled snow protected the entrance before me.

It appeared untouched.


It was not.

There were people there

in the back

hidden from view

hidden from society

and I told them,

'I mean no harm.

I seek respite,

relief. I want a way

out of the cold.'


So they took me in.

They held me

fed me meagerly

kept me warm

- as warm as they could make it

in their abandoned shack

in this back alley

that few noticed

and none wanted.


They ministered me

mothered me

until the snows stopped

and the situation improved

and I was able to make my way

out:

Out, among the citizens.

Out, where it was safe.

Out, to safety, and security

to places where freedom rang

and the pursuit of happiness

was most important.

Out, to where the normal live

and the snow had melted

leaving no trace.


Hard as try

much as I seek

I have found it quite difficult

to work my way

back in.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com