SALVE


Someday

after I've worked hard and long

and I've made something of myself

earning my keep and making my name,

and fame and fortune have been mine

to lose - but I haven't -

when I'm wealthy,

when I'm well off,

when I have achieved my success,

I will prove it

by buying a slave.


I'll be good to him,

a kind master,

a brave owner,

whom no one can deny

deserves his booty

from toil gone by.

I will treasure my slave

and keep him well.


My slave will be a paragon

of responsibility,

a blessing

in chains,

a best friend who unburdens

for his master.


He will be my gentleman's gentleman

a servant unparalleled

a good old boy.

I will earn my slave

from all my work

and then I'll be free of it

forevermore.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com