FAITH AND OTHER STUPIDITIES


"If our love's not meant to be," I said,

"It will be."

I said that.

Me. Early

in our courtship.

What an idiot I was...


I didn't imagine how easily

it could all fall away.

How swiftly we could lose

that precious thing

and with so little effort.


I did not think how an errant word

a blind eye at the wrong moment

could create such chaos

rending that which we both had sought.


I lacked vision.

I lacked breadth of experience.

I did not know

what these ashes

might taste like.


If it's meant to be,

still we must fight furiously

and frequently

to keep it alive.

We must struggle, striving, straining

to maintain the seedling

we had found

together.


That thing we should have coddled,

protected, kept safe,

it died,

wasted and blew away somewhere.


I am sorry for my idiot words

and my thoughtless thoughts

and my ignorant beliefs

about destiny and faith

and other stupidities.

I am sorry I cannot say this to you

but only on this page.

Mostly, though, it's the idiot words...

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com