MY ABUSED YOUTH


There were no beatings

in my abused youth.

No hurled words

or killer stares.

What there was

was an absence

a sin of omission

a lack.


There were not compliments a child needs

endless assurances that everything

was all right.

There were no cars at sixteen

or big bar mitzvah bashes

or all-inclusively creative events in my childhood.


I was bought no mint Superman comics

or given any Sega systems.

I had to slog through life with an Atari 2600.

TWENTY SIX HUNDRED!


I remember, sitting in my bathroom

after no allowance raise for the second straight month

thinking that no child of mine would ever suffer as I had done

experience my want

my needs.

No one else

I swore

would suffer as I had

during my abused youth.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com