MISS UNAMERICA


I did the right thing.

I did the moral thing.

I did the upstanding, emotionally accurate and artistic thing.

When Miss UnAmerica offered me a night on the town

the night of my life

an evening in her presence for whatever I could imagine

and no one need ever know�

I desisted.

I detailed my deference to our dedication to once another.

I desired no more but to say 'good night, madam."

I did the right thing.


And now, as I think it over,

think back on that bygone decade

as I see life as a highway

that we have traveled far too down

it occurs how stupid, how idiotic I was�


To be offered that glorious opportunity

to have a chance like that knock on my door

one night of heaven

one night of un-caughtedness

to be put me in a position that everyone wants

that everyone must take

to remain happy.

And I aborted it.

I desisted.

I deferred.

I had the chance, and I failed to take it.

There is no question:

I did the wrong thing.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com