DAYS WITHOUT YOU III

(7)


Dear Amy,

The sidewalk streets are emptied out this time of night.

Good sense from the pedestrians since they blew out all the lights.

It's dark and unsafe out there; in here it's just all right

and I miss you.


At this hour, I should be sleeping, it's four seventeen

and eleven seconds � wait, hold on, twelve � no, thirteen �

but when I close my eyes it's of only you that I dream

and I wish you� were here� dear Amy


I can't believe it's been only a week since you've been gone

I thought the time alone would go much faster, dammit, I was wrong.

Our lives are short � these days apart are taking much too long.

When are you coming back? When are you coming home�

dear Amy?


The hours after midnight are a cold unfriendly place

I used to wake up sweating then by looking at your face

I could wait for dawn with fears abolished without trace

and no reminder.


But now I face them awkwardly, a coward to the bone,

insomnia and terror my companions when alone

with my former sole protection having left this stupid home

well behind her� dear Amy


I can't believe all of the things to you I didn't say

maybe if I'd begged, you wouldn't've gone away

but since you're gone all I can do is write and sit and pray

you may come back� to stay� dear Amy.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com