HURTS WHEN I LAUGH


You say the sun is shining

and the birds are shining.

But I see something different.

I experience reality in a different way.


Oh, certainly

the sun shines

the birds sing

now.

But soon

soon the clouds will fall

like locusts in the Spring.

Soon, the rains will drown out the birds' tunes

and then the birds themselves shall die

trying to fly away

from the melee.


That world you breathe in

is close to mine

but separated by a mere pane of glass.

That silver lining simply accentuates the cloud

the lemonade you make is a sour distasteful stew.

That half-full glass

is to me

three-quarters empty.


So, see the sun.

Watch it's glorious glow

but only I truly know that soon enough

without a bet

your holy sun will set.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com