ROOF TRICK II


The wind blows furiously � it's like an air tunnel in here

and she pretends not to notice, her hair twisting curiously

as she's framed by her window

silhouette etched into memory.


She ponders, preens, practices, poses

prepares for the acts to follow.

"I don't mind dying," she says,

"Not tonight, not in this way," she says,

etched into memory

upon her window sill

performing for an audience of one.


Her performance raises questions:

Is she all right?

What's wrong?

Will she jump?

Did she style her hair on this night

where she won't mind dying?

And didn't she pull the same shit yesterday?


The act is good.

I'm especially impressed when she repeats,

"Will you join me here?

"Here� on the ledge?"

It is very impressive.

She's built a very strong scene.

But repeated performances

do not do it justice

and I've grown bored with the show.

Her roof trick doesn't work

like it did before.


"Tell you what," I say,

"Give me a call,

when you've changed you act."

And I leave her

racing down to the first floor

just in case, this time

she meant it.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com