THIS PEN II


This pen

the one in my hand

is the one that you borrowed earlier

to jot that note to your girlfriend

about how you couldn't make it to see her

because you were busy

with me.


This pen

the one in my hand

that you held

composed

to create your excuse

your explanation

your exit for your eventual ex

is a simple pen

a common pen

a Bic

a basic object that no one would ever notice.


This pen

the one in my hand

which you so frequently touched

tasted

your sweet sweet lips sucking the top

in consternation

considering how to tell the tale you eventually told

is the pen that I will never again use

but will have, hold

forevermore.


This pen

the one in my hand

the one near my heart

this pen I treasure

was once

for that brief instant

yours

ours

and I will never let this avatar

be sullied by such simple acts such as writing.

This pen is for much much more than that.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com