WINE


You used to taste of wine.


I could barely tell,

so unfamiliar was I

with your lips,

their vintage,

their style and scent.


But I learned to recognize

just what you were like

as I recognized

how much I liked it.


I did not know much about fine wine, either.

I was clueless about so many things.

So many ways I should have behaved

words I should have used

strategies implemented

became clear to me too much later

too late...


I was so ignorant

and unaware

of just how intoxicating

and addictive

you would be.

And how empty everything would be

without you in my hands,

sipped, swallowed, satisfying.


You used to taste of wine

but now

all I know

is that wine tastes of you.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com