TATTOO II


You have to understand

there is much in my past

that prides me not at all.

There were ways � so many ways -

where I was lost

and might still be

if not for you.

I was foolish for so long

in so many ways

with so many people

whom I abused

even as I abused myself.

I have drunk myself stupid

and put poisons into my body

that I couldn�t believe at the time

or ever after.

I have been dumb

and I�ll be silent about it

no more.


But what you ask

is unnecessary.

What you request

unrequired.

I have mutilated myself

with her name

worn my heart off my sleeve

as I identified

with the former flame.

I loved her once

but no more.

I named her publicly

on my arm

with ink and blade

but she is just about forgotten.


You would have me excise my past

remove her evidence from my body

but it is too late.

She is gone from everywhere that matters.

In the darkness

there is only you.

In the night, when there�s nothing else to see


I see your face

While I hold her on my skin

I hold you under it.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com